Advances in Computer Games 2017

The Fifteenth International Conference on Advances in Computer Games (ACG2017) will be held in Leiden, the Netherlands, in conjunction with the 23th World Computer Chess Championship (WCCC) and the 19th Computer Olympiad (CO). The conference takes place from Monday July 3 to Wednesday July 5, 2017, on three consecutive days, and is located at the Snellius building of Leiden University. The WCCC and the CO will take place from July 1 to July 7, also at Leiden University.

The conference aims in the first place at providing an international forum for computer-games researchers presenting new results on ongoing work. The recent successes of the CG and the ACG conferences have encouraged the organizers to widen their scope and therefore we encourage contributions on virtual and video games and modern board games. So, we invite contributors to submit papers on all aspects of research related to computers and games. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to: (1) the current state of game-playing programs for classic and modern board and card games, (2) the current state of virtual, casual and video games, (3) new theoretical developments in game-related research, and (4) general scientific contributions produced by the study of games. Also researchers on topics such as (5) social aspects of computer games, (6) cognitive research of how humans play games, (7) capture and analysis of game data, and (8) issues related to networked games are invited to submit their contributions.

Important Dates

Paper Submission: March 6, 2017 extended to March 27, 2017
(notice that re-submission is possible)

Acceptance Notification: April 3, 2017 April 17, 2017

Final Papers due: May 1, 2017 May 15,2017

Website (active since January 13):

Paper Submission Requirements

Papers of 8 to 10 pages are preferred. The maximum length is 12 pages (including references). The format for submission is PDF, generated using LaTeX. The paper must be written in the English language.

Revised selected papers will be published as a post-proceedings in LNCSI, see the LNCS homepage (
Please follow the instructions for authors available at Springer:

Refereeing Process

The usual full refereeing process will be executed. Papers will be refereed by members of the Program Committee. Papers will be accepted if their overall quality is acceptable and the topic suits the conference. Accepted papers will be scheduled for presentation during the conference and will be printed as conference proceedings. Authors of accepted papers, or their representatives, are expected to present their papers at the conference. Notice of acceptance of papers will be sent by April 3, 2017 to the principal author. Final papers are due by May 1, 2017.

Registration Fee

  Early Late
On or before April 15 After April 15
Participants Euro 200 Euro 250
Students Euro 150 Euro 180

Admission to the conference and a copy of conference proceedings are included in the conference registration fee.


The editing and processing of the contributions to the proceedings will be performed by Mark Winands, Jaap van den Herik, and Walter Kosters.

Chairs of the Program Committee

Mark Winands, Jaap van den Herik, Walter Kosters

Program Committee

Victor Allis Ingo Althöfer Hendrik Baier
Petr Baudis Yngvi Björnsson Branislav Bosansky
Bruno Bouzy Ivan Bratko Cameron Browne
Tristan Cazenave Bo-Nian Chen Jr-Chang Chen
Paolo Ciancarini Rémi Coulom Omid David
Jeroen Donkers Diogo R. Ferreira David Fotland
Johannes Fuernkranz James Glenn Michael Greenspan
Reijer Grimbergen Matej Guid Dap Hartmann
Tsuyoshi Hashimoto Guy McCrossan Haworth Ryan Hayward
Huang Hong Hendrik Jan Hoogeboom Shun-Chin Hsu
Tsan-sheng Hsu Hiroyuki Iida Tomoyuki Kaneko
Graham Kendall Akihiro Kishimoto Walter Kosters
Yoshiyuki Kotani Clyde Kruskal Hans Kuijf
Marc Lanctot Jialin Liu Richard Lorentz
Ulf Lorenz Shaul Markovitch Hitoshi Matsubara
Ali Mirsoleimani Martin Mueller Todd William Neller
Nathan S. Netanyahu J.A.M. Nijssen Jakub Pawlewicz
Aske Plaat Matthias Rauterberg Ben Ruijl
Aleksander Sadikov Jahn Saito Sancho Salcedo-Sanz
Maarten Schadd Jonathan Schaeffer Richard Segal
Yaron Shoham Pieter Spronck Nathan Sturtevant
Tetsuro Tanaka Gerald Tesauro Olivier Teytaud
Wenjie Tseng Yoshimasa Tsuruoka Jos Uiterwijk
H.Jaap van den Herik Erik van der Werf Peter van Emde Boas
Jan Van Rijn Jan van Zanten Jonathan Vis
Gert Vriend Tinghan Wei Hans Weigand
Mark Winands Thomas Wolf I-Chen Wu
Xinhe Xu Georgios Yannakakis Shi-Jim Yen