Advances in Computer Games 2017

The Fifteenth International Conference on Advances in Computer Games (ACG2017) will be held in Leiden, the Netherlands, in conjunction with the 23th World Computer Chess Championship (WCCC) and the 19th Computer Olympiad (CO). The conference takes place from Monday July 3 to Wednesday July 5, 2017, on three consecutive days, and is located at the Snellius building of Leiden University. The WCCC and the CO will take place from July 1 to July 7, also at Leiden University.

The conference aims in the first place at providing an international forum for computer-games researchers presenting new results on ongoing work. The recent successes of the CG and the ACG conferences have encouraged the organizers to widen their scope and therefore we encourage contributions on virtual and video games and modern board games. So, we invite contributors to submit papers on all aspects of research related to computers and games. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to: (1) the current state of game-playing programs for classic and modern board and card games, (2) the current state of virtual, casual and video games, (3) new theoretical developments in game-related research, and (4) general scientific contributions produced by the study of games. Also researchers on topics such as (5) social aspects of computer games, (6) cognitive research of how humans play games, (7) capture and analysis of game data, and (8) issues related to networked games are invited to submit their contributions.

Important Dates

Paper Submission: March 6, 2017 extended to March 27, 2017
(notice that re-submission is possible)

Acceptance Notification: April 3, 2017 April 18, 2017

Final Papers due: May 1, 2017 May 5,2017

Website (active since January 13):

Paper Submission Requirements

Papers of 8 to 10 pages are preferred. The maximum length is 12 pages (including references). The format for submission is PDF, generated using LaTeX. The paper must be written in the English language.

Revised selected papers will be published as a post-proceedings in LNCSI, see the LNCS homepage (
Please follow the instructions for authors available at Springer:

Refereeing Process

The usual full refereeing process will be executed. Papers will be refereed by members of the Program Committee. Papers will be accepted if their overall quality is acceptable and the topic suits the conference. Accepted papers will be scheduled for presentation during the conference and will be printed as conference proceedings. Authors of accepted papers, or their representatives, are expected to present their papers at the conference. Notice of acceptance of papers will be sent by April 18, 2017 to the principal author. Final papers are due by May 5, 2017.

Registration Fee

  Early Late
On or before April 24 After April 24
Participants Euro 200 Euro 250
Students Euro 150 Euro 180

Admission to the conference and a copy of conference proceedings are included in the conference registration fee.

Payment can be made via Direct Bank transfer to ING Bank, The Netherlands:

IBAN: NL34INGB0003988921


Or at the events in cash or via creditcard


The editing and processing of the contributions to the proceedings will be performed by Mark Winands, Jaap van den Herik, and Walter Kosters.

Chairs of the Program Committee

Mark Winands, Jaap van den Herik, Walter Kosters

Program Committee

Jean-Marc Alliot Victor Allis Ingo Althöfer
Hendrik Baier Petr Baudis Yngvi Björnsson
Branislav Bosansky Bruno Bouzy Ivan Bratko
Andries Brouwer Cameron Browne Tristan Cazenave
Bo-Nian Chen Jr-Chang Chen Paolo Ciancarini
Rémi Coulom Jeroen Donkers Diogo R. Ferreira
David Fotland Johannes Fuernkranz James Glenn
Michael Greenspan Reijer Grimbergen Matej Guid
Dap Hartmann Michael Hartisch Tsuyoshi Hashimoto
Guy McCrossan Haworth Ryan Hayward Huang Hong
Hendrik Jan Hoogeboom Shun-Chin Hsu Hiroyuki Iida
Takeshi Ito Tomoyuki Kaneko Graham Kendall
Akihiro Kishimoto Walter Kosters Yoshiyuki Kotani
Clyde Kruskal Hans Kuijf Marc Lanctot
Jialin Liu Richard Lorentz Ulf Lorenz
Shaul Markovitch Hitoshi Matsubara Ali Mirsoleimani
Martin Mueller Todd William Neller Nathan S. Netanyahu
J.A.M. Nijssen Jakub Pawlewicz Aske Plaat
Matthias Rauterberg Ben Ruijl Aleksander Sadikov
Jahn Saito Maarten Schadd Jonathan Schaeffer
Richard Segal Yaron Shoham Pieter Spronck
Nathan Sturtevant Tetsuro Tanaka Gerald Tesauro
Wenjie Tseng Jos Uiterwijk H.Jaap van den Herik
Erik van der Werf Peter van Emde Boas Jan van Rijn
Jan van Zanten Jonathan Vis Gert Vriend
Tinghan Wei Hans Weigand Mark Winands
Thomas Wolf I-Chen Wu Xinhe Xu

One thought on “Advances in Computer Games 2017”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: